The Society for Post-Medieval Archaeology

Our Journal

Post-Medieval Archaeology is an international journal reflecting the increasingly broad scope of post-medieval archaeology today, including landscapes, artefact studies, vernacular architecture and industrial archaeology. From 2014 the Journal is published triannually, including a new annual supplement offering a summary of post-medieval fieldwork in Britain and Ireland, and the Journal encourages a vibrant multi-disciplinary approach to the past. We encourage papers that draw on a wide range of material, textual, iconographic and scientific evidence, as well as engaging in the latest theoretical debates.

The Editors of Post-Medieval Archaeology welcome original papers of national and international significance that match the aims and scope of the journal. The contents of the submission should be original work that has not been previously published nor submitted for publication elsewhere. All contributions are reviewed anonymously by independent referees. We also welcome shorter Notes, up to 3,000 words in length, on topics related to current research. We publish an annual review of post-medieval archaeology in Britain and Ireland, reporting on the considerable quantity of high quality fieldwork being undertaken throughout the British and Irish Isles.

It is a condition of publication that papers become the copyright of The Society for Post-Medieval Archaeology. Funding by grant is not a prerequisite for publication, but contributors presenting papers arising from developer-funded work and from nationally funded organizations in Britain will be asked to contribute to the page preparation and printing costs.

To view information and contents for our latest issue please click here

Contact us

Editor: Alasdair Brooks editor@spma.org.uk

Assistant Editors:

James Dixon assistanteditor@spma.org.uk

Katherine Fennelly katherine.le.fennelly@gmail.com

Laura McAtackney mcatackl@hotmail.com

Jemma Bezant j.bezant@tsd.uwtsd.ac.uk

Penny Crook p.crook@latrobe.edu.au

Kate Mees kam215@exeter.ac.uk

Greig Parker parker.greig@gmail.com

Karen Swope kswope@sricrm.com